30 Days Of Biking is Off!

I pledged to participate in 30 Days of Biking, which I believe is pretty self-explanatory.

My 30 days started on March 31st. Image
I set out to meet my good friend Alex in Ballard, before my weekly Monday volunteer shift at the Bikery.

Alex showed me his brainchild, Barterlabs.com

You should check it out, it’s a brilliant free-trade marketplace for barter. & by free-trade, I mean it’s absolutely free!

Next I rode across the Ballard Bridge & along the Elliot Bay Trail through Myrtle Edwards Park. This is probably one of the most picturesque routes you could take whilst biking in Seattle. Some ride it daily – sounds like a great way to commute!

Riding daily is what 30 Days is all about.

I found that, even not having a car, I’d often take the bus because I was running late. A challenge is just what I need to really get out there & take advantage of riding.

In the Ballard to Bikery route shown here, it was actually 25 minutes faster to ride my bike.

This is on account of rush hour & the necessary transfer, but when you consider that I had time to stop & eat my dinner, and I got to see this:

Image

…I think it was well worth my while!

Despite stopping, I made it to The Bikery on time to help a few people and prepare for my Wednesday workshop:

Image

Come on by! It’ll be at the Douglass-Truth Library at 3pm.

I took a long time to finish up my preparation shenanigans, & I realized it was well after 10 on March 31st.

Now, I have a problem with procrastination, but today I managed to sign up on the last day of the Obamacare open enrollment! Yay, me!

I mention this because everyone should have health care, but also because I always mean to apply to the Awesome Foundation grant, & generally only remember around their monthly deadline which is on the last day of the month. Image

I stuck around late, taking a photo for my app & sending it off right before midnite!

What’s my grant, you ask?

Oh, just a bicycle superhero making the city safe for riders and regular citizens.

I’ll even save a car driver in peril, if deemed necessary.

Expect more on this soon!

The upshot of all this is that I rode home after midnite – or on April 1st!

 

Daily miles: 18.6m
Daily travel time: 2h

Lots to be done tomorrow!
❤ F

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

